FMS Social Studies

  • The Social Studies curriculum in FMS conforms to New York State's framework for Social Studies:

    • Grade 5 focuses on the geography, countries, political systems, and peoples of the Western Hemisphere (North America, Mesoamerica, Carribbean, and South America).
    • Grade 6 addresses the Eastern Hemisphere, examining the Neolithic, River Valley Civilizations, Comparative Religions, the Mediterranean World, and interactions among the regions of the Eastern Hemisphere.
    • Grades 7 and 8 explore topics of US history. 
      • Grade 7 covers the period from the explorations of the New World into the Colonial period, the American Revolution, and the growth of the country up through the Civil War / Reconstruction. 
      • Grade 8 picks up from the Civil War through the 21st century.

    In all grades students develop skills ("Social Studies Practices") necessary for mastering the content in Social Studies:  (1) gathering, interpreting, and using evidence; (2) chronological reasoning; (3) comparison and contextualization; (4) geographic reasoning; (5) economic systems; and (6) civic participation.

    If you would like to know more about specific topics addressed in the classroom, please contact your child's individual Social Studies teacher.

    Grade 5

    Donna Gamble        gambleD@hohschools.org 
    Danielle Brennan        brennanD@hohschools.org
    Lisa Wolk Kilion        kilionl@learn.hohschools.org
    Kyle Case        casek@learn.hohschools.org
    Sarah Schnall        schnalls@learn.hohschools.org
    Shannon Mulholland        mulhollandS@learn.hohschools.org
    Shari Kavanagh        kavanaghs@learn.hohschools.org
     
     
    Grade 6
     
    Devita Cruz              cruzd@hohschools.org
    Barbara Richman      richmanb@hohschools.org
     
    Grade 7
     
    Devita Cruz              cruzd@hohschools.org
    Joan Paradis             paradisj@hohschools.org
     
    Grade 8
     
    Joan Paradis             paradisj@hohschools.org
    Dom Cecere             cecered@hohschools.org
     
     

    Earth, moon, and sun