Return to Headlines

HHS Named Recognition School

Hastings High School Named Recognition School for High Achievement and High Progress 

Superintendent Dr. Valerie Henning-Piedmonte announced at the August 10, 2020 Board of Education Meeting that Hastings High School was named a Recognition School by the New York State Education Department. It is one of 212 high schools in the state receiving the recognition. In total, 582 schools were recognized at the elementary, middle and high school levels.
Upon hearing the news, HHS Principal Louis Adipietro said, "Being named a Recognition School is a testament to the incredible staff and student body of HHS!" 
Under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) plan, Recognition Schools are those with high academic achievement and strong progress, that also perform acceptably for all subgroups for which they are accountable. This year's designees represent 13 percent of New York State public schools.
"These are exemplary public schools that demonstrate that all students can achieve at high levels with the right supports and resources," Board of Regents Chancellor Betty A. Rosa said. "Recognition Schools help to ensure equity for all children across New York State. The Regents and I are grateful to all of the teachers and administrators who, in concerted effort with their school communities, are guiding our students toward success."
Interim Commissioner Shannon Tahoe said. "Recognition schools are the highest performing and rapidly improving schools across the state, and demonstrate the relentless commitment of teachers, administrators, staff and parents, without whom this growth would not have been possible."
Each Recognition School receives a certificate of recognition from the Commissioner. Of the identified schools, 232 are New York City public schools; 313 are public schools in the rest of the state; and 37 are public charter schools, of which 35 are located in New York City. Of these schools, 442 were identified as Recognition Schools last year, and 140 have been newly identified as Recognition Schools for the 2019-20 school year.