Return to Headlines

22 Inducted Into Art Honor Society

 Inductees portraitIf there’s one thing you may already know about our community, it’s that it strongly supports creativity. Fostering a vibrant learning environment is deeply rooted in the mission of our schools, and that’s one of the reasons why so many people are drawn to this small, but notable Rivertown.
As a district we believe art is fundamental to the educational process. It helps develop critical and creative thinking skills, while promoting the growth of personal understanding. It encourages aesthetic development and generates appreciation for new social and emotional experiences with individuals, groups, societies and cultures.
The high school hosts a chapter of the National Art Honor Society, an organization that participates in a variety of community service-based projects and art collaboration and provides recognition and opportunities for students who exhibit outstanding scholarship in visual arts.
At a ceremony last month, 22 of our students were inducted into the NAHS, “after a year in which they demonstrated their commitment to arts and service,” said Lorienne Solaski, NAHS advisor. “Our main service learning project this year was the Memory Project.”
The students are: Charlotte Bourdain, Eesha Chen, Kei Foxman, Emma Gelman Lois Heitler, Xenia Hernandez, Aya Hinawi, Samuel Kennedy, Vanda Knezevic, William Lew, Declan McConnell, Sophie Mines, Joan Moon, Sophie Mulaire, Cara Novak, Sabine Paz-LeDraoulec, Mae Rooney, Liam Shanley, Stella Stephens, Fallon Sutherland, Isabella Weston-Capulong, and Bluebell Ward
Congratulations to all!